just a gardening update. with lots of photos (yay!!!)

I’m not trying to show off, y’all.  I’m just so excited!!!

This morning when I went out to do greenhouse chores, I had all sorts of surprises waiting for me.  I couldn’t help myself.  I had to run back to the house and get the camera to take pictures and more pictures…!!

Come take a stroll with me and check this out.

First, I run into this:

image

Isn’t she beautiful?  Even opening up for me on this drizzly, wet morning.  What a doll!

Then, on the other side of the greenhouse bus door is this one:

image

So stinkin’ cool!!!

Now inside the bus, while watering my tomatoes, I see this:

image

The first one to turn red, y’all!!

Errmergerd!!!

Then I went nuts with the tomatoes.  Here are a few more shots of them.  I love them.  They smell sooooo wonderful!

image

Look how tall they’re getting, almost touching the top of the bus!

And look at these guys, growing so nicely!

image

(Pardon the unsightly green tape.  I use it to hold those heavy branches up and off the floor.)

And here are some more shots of random things in the bus.  We’re experimenting with growing in containers (free 5-gallon buckets from bakeries and restaurants).  These are basil, cucumbers, lettuce and zucchini.

image image image imageimage

and our carrots:

image

and some bell peppers and jalapenos:

image image

and then outside, remember the pickling cucumber and pole bean trellis?  I was starting to worry because the transplants looked so puny and I was certain they were going to die…  But I kept watering them on the off chance that the heat we had been having would help them grow a bit.  Well, here they are!  Smaller than i would want at this point, but I’m happy to see flowers and the pole beans climbing up on the trellis (if you look hard enough, you can see it’s wound itself up to the second “square”):

image image image

It’s fun when things that you’ve cared for and tended to for so long begin to show promise.  I sure hope we have a bountiful harvest this fall!

How are your gardens doing?

3 thoughts on “just a gardening update. with lots of photos (yay!!!)

Leave a Reply

